Science

Satellite spots SpaceX’s Falcon 9 rocket and Dragon from circle in front of load launch to space station

Saturday’s planned launch of the SpaceX Dragon CRS-23 mission has been cleaned because of weather. The next accessible launch opportunity is on Sunday (Aug. 29) at 3:14 a.m. EDT (0714 GMT).

As launch preparations were in progress at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida Friday (Aug. 27) in front of SpaceX’s 23rd cargo launch to the International Space Station, a satellite caught pictures of the rocket from space.

On Friday Maxar Technologies’ WorldView-2 satellite detected SpaceX’s Falcon 9 rocket and Dragon cargo spacecraft from orbit. “We got a nice look through the clouds at LC-39A at Kennedy Space Center, Florida of @SpaceX’s #Falcon9 rocket,” the company tweeted.

WorldView-2, which launched in 2009, is a commercial Earth observation satellite worked by Maxar subsidiary DigitalGlobe. It is fit for settling highlights as little as 18 inches (46 centimeters) on Earth’s surface.

The cargo resupply mission, called CRS-23, is scheduled to take off from Launch Complex 39A on Saturday (Aug. 28) at 3:37 a.m. EDT (0737 GMT).

SpaceX’s Dragon will show up at the orbiting lab on Sunday with 4,800 pounds (2,177 kilograms) of supplies and science gear for the Expedition 65 team. You can watch the launch live here on Space.com, kindness of NASA TV.

Post Comment